I got bored so I designed a case  

Page 1 / 2
  RSS
Jester
(@jester)
Member Moderator

Warning! This is an extremely crude rendering since I have never done such a thing before and I used Google Sketchup!

So don't get your hopes up. This is the first time I ever rendered something and I used a woefully simple program. Anyways, lets move on.

I designed an extended ATX case (to put it mildly) using Google Sketchup. The primary inspirations for this case were the Silverstone TJ07 (shape/body, compartmentalized design), the Cooler Master HAF-X (air ducts, hot swappable drive bays) and the Cooler Master ATCS 840/EVGA SR-2 case (EVGA SR-2 Classified compatibility, motherboard tray design).

All of these cases have drawbacks. The Silverstone TJ07 has bad airflow and is outdated overall (drive bay design, only two top 120mm fan mounts and two 120mm rear fan mounts, outdated MOBO tray design). It also has bad cable management. The ATCS 840 just needs thicker side panels and better stock cooling. The HAF-X is the best of them all in my opinion and the only drawbacks are the lack of dust filters on the bottom. This is an easy fix as you can just put the top dust filters onto the bottom of the case, since the top dust filters shouldn't even be there.

So lets get to my case. I wanted the front, top and bottom of the case to be made out of a single bent piece of very thick aluminum just like the Silverstone TJ07. This would make it extremely durable and not too heavy. Unfortunately, such a shape cannot be done in Sketchup as far as I know so here is a picture of the TJ07.

TJ07B-3-4-02.jpg

I'd like my case to be available in all black (ALL black) and silver, just like the good old Cooler Master ATCS 840, Cooler Master Cosmos 1000/1010, Cooler Master Stacker 830/832 and the Silverstone TJ07. My renders don't really have color. Or textures. Oh well.